top of page
Search
  • CTsow, the Messiah

Progress Post - 2/24/21

Well, pretty shortly after my last post I kinda fell off the wagon for a bit. I could make excuses if I wanted to, like "oh, school caught up to me" or "I was busy," but honestly I just got a bit bored. Still lifes are, after a bit, pretty boring. I think I could draw anything for 2 or even 3 weeks, but past that I'd need something to change pretty significantly. As such, in the middle of this project, I did some figure drawings, and towards the end of this project I started drawing a character from some D&D adventures I was playing with some friends (see the goblin in the bottom left), and I had a blast drawing them. I'm a bit disappointed that I spent four weeks creating maybe 3 good still lifes, some bad ones, and then went and did something else, but I think the important lesson here is this: Yes, practice is important, but you can only practice so long before you get bored. Make something else before then. So I started making other things. I'm not opposed to returning to still lifes, and I likely will in the future (I just like how they can capture everyday life without people), but that will happen when I regain interest in them. I think that's how all my art will continue really, vacillating from one idea or medium to the next.



I have an idea for what my final project(s) of the year will be though. I've had the idea for a comic of a farm boy for a while now, and I think I'm ready to start drawing those comics. For the longest time, I've struggled with the idea of "how do I make a character," but the most important bit is just to live in their shoes for a while. So from now till I get bored with him, I'm going to live in the shoes of Max the Farmhand, a young boy from the Oregon Trail.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page